Trout can join Cobb, handful of others in special group

Ty Cobb was an excellent hitter and basestealer during his Hall of Fame career.

As it stands now, Mike Trout, the talented rookie center fielder for the Los Angeles Angels, is the main obstacle to Miquel Cabrera winning Most Valuable Player honors in the American League. Trout currently is trailing Cabrera in the batting race but remains the AL’s top base stealer.

Should Trout finish on top in both batting and steals, it would mark only the 12th time that a player has led the league in both categories – an achievement rarer than winning batting’s Triple Crown.

The last time a player led the loop in both categories was 11 seasons ago, when Seattle’s Ichiro Suzuki pulled it off. Overall, since 1901 only six players have led the circuit in batting and steals in the same season, including the Tigers’ Ty Cobb, who did it an unprecedented five times.

Year     Player, Team (Avg. SB)
2001    Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle (.350, 56)
1949    Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn (.342, 37)
1945    Snuffy Stirnweiss, NY Yankees (.309, 33)
1922    George Sisler, St. Louis Browns (.420, 51)
1917    Ty Cobb, Detroit (.383, 55)
1915    Ty Cobb, Detroit (.369, 96)
1911    Ty Cobb, Detroit (.420, 83)
1909   Ty Cobb, Detroit (.377, 76)
1908   Honus Wagner, Pittsburgh (.354, 53)
1907   Ty Cobb, Detroit (.350, 53)
1904   Honus Wagner, Pittsburgh (.349, 53)